Your ‘best’ is always changing

When I feel I’m lacking in wisdom, or wandering about my life aimlessly, I refer to Ecclesiastes which talks about what usually happens in an imperfect world, and Proverbs, which talks about what would happen if everyone acted fairly. These two books of the Bible has practical steps towards living a better life.

 

…The fastest runner doesn’t always win the race, and the strongest warrior doesn’t always win the battle. The wise sometimes go hungry, and the skillful are not necessarily wealthy. And those who are educated don’t always lead successful lives. It is all decided by chance, by being in the right place at the right time. – Ecclesiastes 9 vs 11 (NLT version)

 

It’s not hard to think of cases where life is unfair. But, in my opinion, in order to have the best chance of being in the right place at the right time as Solomon says, we have to do our best in everything that we do, knowing that our ‘best’ is always changing. When we grow in knowledge of a certain topic, we perform better today than we did yesterday. So our baseline of performance has increased, right? Maybe yesterday my best was 5/10, but with more practice, today my best is 8/10. So when someone says ‘I did my best….’ that is correct – on that day, in that moment, with those affecting circumstances, and that level of knowledge. Tomorrow might be different thing. Our best can also determined by the situations around us and our response to them, and the people we associate with and how they affect us.

It is my belief that God puts us in the right place at the right time, but not without some effort from us – if we want something, we have to act like we want it, going all out and fully believing we can achieve it. Once we believe we can, then the natural response is to do our best, then we are much more likely to have that door of opportunity opened even when we don’t understand how.

So, for simple living, in everything we should just do our best, whatever that may at that point in time, actively work to change the baseline of our ‘best’ in all aspects of our lives, and believe in the possibilities.

2 thoughts on “Your ‘best’ is always changing

Add yours

  1. Thank you for the encouragement and the post. After reading this, I feel like my spirit has been lifted. A lot has happen in my life, and each day I wonder about it, but recently I had to rethink and re-frame my opinions. This makes me think about bettering myself and able to accept it, even if the progress is small. Thank you again.

    Like

    1. Hi Paigy! I’m very happy you got something out of today’s post. As we go through life we have to try and peel back the layers and see what’s really important, then go from there. I’m very confident your next step will be great and impactful – not for anyone else, but for you! Dream it, do it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

