Guest Blogger: Tidy Up!

YES! Today’s post is featuring our first guest blogger. She wants to remain anonymous. Here is her piece, hope you enjoy it!

If you’re interested in writing short blog posts for Moti-Spire, please send them to lvang2010s@gmail.com Thanks!

marie-kondo.png

Need some tidying up in your life? Since these past few weeks, I’ve been reading a book title, The Life-changing magic of tidying up by Marie Kondo. This book talks about how you think you need everything in your life, but you probably don’t need it. Also about tidying and decluttering your space. It’s been a great stress read too, since it makes you reflect a lot about the things you have in your life and what meaning it can bring to you.

After reading this book, I learn to let things go by cleaning, trashing, and recycling my things in my room. I came to the conclusion that the things that I value now, in 5-10 years, it may not mean anything. All the things I wanted when I was 15, is not what I wanted now. As with time, values have a sense of expiration date too. One thing was clear for me, though my assumption in cleaning my room was going to be easy, my biggest challenge was thinking about my things, why I had them and kept them for so long.

Within the book, Kondo’s KonMari Method is interesting because it is about learning to tidy up your house, space and life. First start out by tossing out things that are less important to you, like tossing out clothes, then books, papers, miscellaneous items, sentimental items, and photos. I used her method but halfway through, I forgot and did it my own way. There came the struggle of tossing away the book, and items that cost so much money and with years going by, the cost just piles up. It was hard, plus confronting my past came as a bonus. I got to meet my past self, and in this moment I saw my life flashed before my eyes, and took on new meaning to move forward. As I pile through my precious things, they were just a cover up for ‘junk’ as I came to realize. So I guess for me this was not as successful, however I feel like a load of baggage has been lifted from my life, and I don’t miss it, because it felt like it was never there to begin with, which was kind of sad to think about.

This book gives you tips and advice for storing and placing your items as well as “putting your house in order and discover what you really want to do.” Give it a try and see for yourself if it works for you, in the long run, it did for me. Thank you for reading.

 

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Tidy Up!

Add yours

  1. Yay! Our first guest blog! Thanks for suggesting that book, I know for sure there are several things from college I need to get rid of – and one would think I’d done it considering I moved twice since I graduated. I guess it’s that time to do a serious deep clean! Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

