Thanksgiving! Friendsgivings?!

Happy Thanksgiving! And Friendsgiving! And Happy Hmong New Year!

Food Network Kitchen says, “Start a New Tradition:  Friendsgiving!”
The only thing better than Thanksgiving dinner is two Thanksgiving dinners. One with your family and one with your friends.

*side note: My Hmong people also celebrate our New year during this time. I have no idea as to what calendar is this as a lot of people ask me, but we just do. In MN where I am from, usually we would dress up in our Hmong outfits and go hangout downtown for the next three days to enjoy talent shows, pageant show and also ball toss. Which I will write a separate post about later.

This year I was able to spend my lovely Thanksgiving with my wonderful AU community and my amazing roommate. She made a bomb diggity roasted chicken this week! And maybe I’ll convince her to share her recipe. We had a great chillaxed morning playing video games and sending her to the airport. In the evening, I was invited to go to a classmate and friend’s house for Friendsgiving. I met other people who went to my school and bonded with them over dinner. I was shocked at my name card. After we said grace, and introduced ourselves, we had to answered questions that was written in the back of the name cards. Some of them were really interesting. After dinner, we played some really fun and intense board games.

What am I thankful for?

This year I have many things to be thankful for. I don’t even know where to start, I can start by saying I am thankful for two wonderful meals. My lunch and dinner. I am thankful for my family, my best friends, and the opportunities that had fallen in my path this year. I am thankful I got to learn how to drive, thankful for the new friends I made this year in my master program, thankful for my new life in a new city. Every year I am grateful for my family who had always supported me in academics and finances but this year I wanted to point out my three best friends. I am truly, greatly, thankful for my three best friends. Without them, I will not be the Sana I am today. I am grateful and happy they each are part of my life, putting back broken pieces of me together, laughing about the dumbest things, cracking jokes left to right, and support/taught/challenge me every day. I have many things to be thankful for, but this will be it for now.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

